Been a long time…

Thankfully my riding has been more frequent than my blogging of late. A quick check of the bike computer shows 478 miles since I bought the bike – not too bad. I’ve been riding regularly, usually about 3/4 times a week with a longer ride on the weekend. I clocked up my longest (and hardest) ride so far a couple of weekends ago, here are the details:

Looks much easier on a map...

Looks much easier on a map...

Elevation gain = Ouch

Elevation gain = Ouch

I’m not ashamed to admit that at around the 35 mile mark I was pretty much ready to drop. 🙂 I posted about this ride at the BikeForums.net, and got a lot of useful advice, you can check it all out here, great group of people there.

In an cruel twist of fate, my father-in-law has recently been diagnosed with stomach cancer, he’s fighting the fight, doing a great job, and we’re all hoping for the best. Too much cancer in the family, if nothing else it motivates me to meet my Pan Mass Challenge goal.

It’s getting cold here, 17 degrees this morning, hopefully it won’t affect my riding, just seems like a matter of getting the right clothes. I already have thermal windstopper tights which do a great job, just need to get the top half sorted out now.

I’m thinking of joining the Charles River Wheelmen soon, they have a great calendar going and I think riding with others would be a good experience, might help the winter motivation also. I’ll let you know how that goes…

Be back soon and happy riding!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

