A big day…

Yesterday was a big day, I bit the bullet and signed up for the 2009 Pan Mass Challenge!! It’s a big deal as I’m committing to riding 192 miles in 2 days, but also to raise at least $4200 for Dana-Faber cancer research. Lots of hard work ahead, both training, and fund raising!

I can’t believe it’s been over 2 months since I posted, time flies. Points of interest since the last post:

  • I’m now riding 50 miles at a time without assistance from an ambulance!
  • I’ve joined CRW and I’m really enjoying the dynamics of group riding, the miles fly by much quicker with a group.
  • Riding in winter in New England isn’t as easy as I had hoped. So many times it’s not a matter of not wanting to go out, it’s a matter of physically not being able to – as soon as the roads ice up and cover with snow, you’re stuck inside. Thankfully we’re getting glimpses of spring, hopefully it won’t wait too much longer.
  • I’ve spent the last month putting off registering for the PMC, the distance is a challenge, but the fund raising aspect is somewhat overwhelming, in the end I decided to just sign up and worry about that after. 🙂
  • I’ve ridden over 700 miles since owning this bike, that’s from here to North Carolina, probably warmer there!
  • Jim, my father in law, continues his valiant battle against stomach cancer.

I’ll be hoping to update here more often in the next 170 days, yikes, is that all it is until go time…

I’m hoping to order some rollers in the next couple of days, that way I can continue to train regardless of weather, I hear they can be notoriously hard to ride, hope I don’t end up like this guy…( forward to 1:10 to see what I mean )

Happy Trails!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

