PMC Fundraising, training, and more fundraising…

This time last week I decided I really needed to get going with the fundraising side of my PMC quest. I’ve been dreading the fundraising aspect far more than the 200 mile ride, asking people for money is not really my “thang”…

I started a Facebook group where friends could join to read about what I’m doing, and get updates as the big day draws closer. As of now the group has 132 members, and thanks to the generosity of our friends ( and friends of friends ) we’ve already raised…drum roll please…$500!!!!!! That’s almost 12% of the total needed!!!!!!!

With the current economic situation I was really nervous that fundraising would be a complete bust, I have $4200 to raise, if I don’t it comes out of my own pocket. 🙂 So far I’ve been amazed how generous people have been, it says a lot about the cause and the people we are raising the money in the name of. To those who donated, THANK YOU! To those who didn’t but want to, you can do it by clicking right here! If you can’t make a donation, please show your support by joining the Facebook group we set up here, strength in numbers!

I’m guessing the fund raising will slow down after this initial spike so I have my thinking cap on for fund raising ideas for the coming weeks – if anyone has any ideas please let me know! 🙂

The riding is coming on really well, the snow has all but melted here and spring has sprung, you can’t beat spring in New England. Winters are frigid and way too cold, Summers are steaming and way too hot, Spring and Fall tend to be just right. I’m able to get out and ride most days and usually do between 30 and 40 miles, I need to start doing longer distances but it’s hard to find the chunks of time needed to do that. To ride anything over 60 miles you need at least 3+ hours, 80 is probably close to 5. I’ll have to start getting up REALLY early now that the weather is good to try some of these longer rides.

I just passed 900 miles on the bike I bought back in my first post on this blog, won’t be long before I hit the big 1000 mile mark. Just where would that have got me if I’d ridden it all at once…

  • Chicago, Illinois
  • Augusta, Georgia
  • Louisville, Kentucky
  • Knoxville, Tennessee
  • 1/3rd of the way across the Atlantic

For those that are interested, I’ve probably spent about 60 hours on this bike…gulp. That doesn’t count miles and hours spent on the bike on rollers…

That’s all for now, here’s hoping for more great weather, more miles, and more money raised for a great cause!

Happy ridin’ 🙂

Help me meet my Pan Mass Challenge fund raising goal

3 comments so far

  1. Mike M. on

    Nice job, keep at it! Consider joining LEGS, there are riders on the team not too far from you and you will benefit greatly from riding with the group (and may help your fund raising).

    Best,

    Mike

  2. Amy Gibbs on

    Post some pics of you in just your bike shorts, maybe that will increase the fundraising for you!

    • zerotopanmass on

      Or kill my fund raising completely. 🙂


Leave a Reply

