Mission accomplished!

Well, I made it, 200 miles in 2 days, $4200 raised for Dana Farber Cancer Institute.

Hard to believe it’s been 3 months and only now am I getting the time to sit down and blog about my 2009 PMC experience. In short it was awesome, nothing I write here will do justice to the event, it was challenging, but empowering – I know I can’t cure cancer, but I can help raise money to support those who can, it’s my very small contribution to something bigger than all of us. The 2009 PMC is on target to raise $30 million this year.

Try finding your bike at 4am in the dark, there were about 5000...

Try finding your bike at 4am in the dark, there were about 5000...

Ah, there it is...

Ah, there it is...

Start line...

Start line...

On the road ( me - front left - white helmet )

On the road ( me - front left - white helmet )

My home for the night on Day 1

My home for the night on Day 1 - PMC tent is the way to go.

These things are NOISY.

These things are NOISY, but I was so tired it didn't bother me a bit.

Up early on Day 2, heading out on the Bourne bridge, next stop Cape Cod.

Up early on Day 2, heading out on the Bourne bridge, next stop Cape Cod.

My lowest point of the weekend mid way on Day 2, everything hurt, a lot. (:-)

My lowest point of the weekend mid way on Day 2, everything hurt, a lot. (:-)

Finished! In more ways than one...

Finished! In more ways than one...

One thing is clear, I’m just riding the bike, that’s the easy part. The real heroes here are:

  • My sponsors. Raising $4200 is a monumental task, one that almost put me off signing up. I was amazed at peoples generosity, even in these tough economic times. People donated all kinds of amounts, small to huge, some donating multiple times to get me closer to my target, people donating that I did not even know. The outpouring of support was touching, “Thank you” doesn’t seem to cut it, but it’s all I’ve got. (:-) Thanks also go to the sponsors who got their companies to match their donations ( thanks Google!! ), it makes a huge difference! Also my nieces, nephews and little boy for their enterprising lemonade stand, they all worked so hard at serving tasty lemonade to thirsty customers on a very humid summer day – thanks guys! (:-)
  • Members of my Facebook group. Over 170 people joined the Facebook group I set up, it was invaluable in getting the word out to potential sponsors. Again, so many people joined who I didn’t know, the support was awesome.
  • Megs and Jake. They watched me vanish for hours on end as I trained to get ready for the PMC and never, ever complained. They supported me every step of the way, from pushing me through my fears of signing up, right up to willing me across the finish line, they were both always there for me. Thank you guys, love you.

As I sit here in October 2009 my thoughts turn towards the 2010 PMC, will I do it again? Out on the road it’s not uncommon to see riders who have done 5, 15, 25 PMCs. Having ridden this year I can see why, it’s infectious and gives a sense of being able to do something in the fight against cancer.

Jim and Brenda, my 2009 PMC’s for you.

I’ll end this post with a question, should I saddle up again and ride next year? I think I already know the answer…

1 comment so far

  1. matt m on

    Nice job Tim…If you want to help but can’t bike (like me) I volunteered for the first time and was moved beyond words during my time on Saturday helping park bikes at the end of day 1, I was so moved by he numerous people who cycled for a cure and those who biked as survivors of cancer!!
    It was a great day and I highly recommend volunteering if you can’t ride!


Leave a Reply

