Pan Mass Challenge winter training blues…

Training for the Pan Mass Challenge here in Massachusetts is pretty rough. You don’t just go jump on a bike without training, ride 200 miles and expect to do it without assistance from an ambulance, that’s what makes the Pan Mass Challenge a challenge. 🙂

The reason it’s tough here is that from mid December to about mid-March, the roads are in bad shape thanks to old man winter, I can handle riding in the cold, but not many riders want to do battle with snowy and icy roads. As such, my basement becomes my training ground for most of those 4 months. Riding indoors is, how can I say it, brutally, soul-crushingly, BORING – it’s awful. You can watch TV, listen to music, whatever, the only thing I think about is how long until I’m done. I even train on rollers, which are supposed to be more interesting and simulate riding on a road, I don’t think it matters much, it’s still booooooring. 🙂

The good news is that there’s light at the end of the tunnel, we’re at the start of March and the temperature is peeking above freezing now and then. Soon enough I’ll be able to say farewell to the rollers until next winter.

The fund raising is going really well, and that’s what keeps me going through the winter of indoor training. We’re currently at $325, about 7% of my fund raising goal of $5000, I still have a long way to go, but the ride is not until the start of August – I know I’ll be able to make it.

We recently got a Flip video recorder so now I can post videos along the way. So many people are asking about training, and what rollers are, I decided to post a quick video it’s nothing special, Steven Spielberg is safe for now…

Thanks again to everyone who has donated so far, and to everyone who has joined the Facebook group, we have over 3100 members now. I get so many messages, it’s truly sad, that almost everyone has a cancer story of some description, some are even undergoing treatment right now ( and doing an AWESOME job of it “CM” ). It amazes me that people going through so much, are still interested in helping others out.

As always, I vow to be back here posting more often, I’m a pretty miserable blogger with my monthly appearances. 🙂

At the risk of sounding like a ( very ) broken record, to those who already donated, THANK YOU. To those who didn’t yet, but would like to, please click here, no donation is too small ( or too big! ), it doesn’t mind which currency you donate in, they are all very much appreciated.

4 comments so far

  1. Alan on

    I was waiting for a cock up but you pulled it off.

  2. George on

    Can’t understand how you stay on the rollers for any amount of time. I just grind away on a trainer at the gym, and like you, wait patiently for better weather.
    Where are you located? Maybe we can get together for a training ride this spring!

    Grumpy

    • zerotopanmass on

      You bet Grumpy! Training ride sounds great, I’m up in Billerica, MA

  3. Cindy S (Serial Swooper) on

    OMG, I would SO QUICKLY break my neck on those things! Amazing.


Leave a Reply

