My first 100 mile training week…

…was thwarted by the soaking wet weather. I came close though and if nothing else it was nice to get outside a few times and off those blasted rollers. I rode about 80 miles last week, including a dawn training ride with a fellow PMC rider, Marty Griffin, great guy and hopefully we can get out for some more miles before PMC weekend. I think last year, by the time PMC weekend came around I had about 2000 miles of training invested, that’s over 100 hours of time spent on the road ( indoor training not included ). There is never a doubt in my mind that the cause is worth all the training.

The fund raising is going amazingly! We’re ahead of where we were this time last year, currently at…drum roll please…$979!! That’s almost 20% of the goal!!

We're getting there!

We’ve already had some unreal support this year, a huge “Thank You” goes out to Christina who has been amazing in supporting what I’m doing. What makes Christina’s support even more special is that she is fighting her own battle with cancer, right now. She’s going to kick its ass, it won’t know what hit it. πŸ™‚

It’s been an awesome start to the fund raising, and I can only hope that more sponsors come out of the woodwork as the days countdown to PMC weekend. 145 days and counting…still a lot of miles to cover, and dollars to raise. πŸ™‚

**Warning, shameless begging alert**

For those who haven’t donated yet, I know it seems a loooooong way off, but the earlier I get this going, the more money I can raise for the Jimmy Fund at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute – 100% of everything you donate goes to that charity. Last year I left the fund raising until later on and almost had a heart attack as I scraped together anything I could in order to reach my goal and make it to the start line. Please, show my stress levels some love and don’t leave donations until the last week. πŸ™‚

Donations can be made online at the Pan Mass Challenge’s secure website, and if you’re quick, it takes less than 2 minutes. πŸ™‚ The URL is: http://www.pmc.org/profile/TB0164

Thank you again for all the support, great weather is here and soon those 100 mile training weeks will be the norm! πŸ™‚

Stay safe out there!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

