Looking back on the 2010 Pan Mass Challenge

We made it! You all helped me hit my fund raising goal, and I rode 200 miles in 2 days. Thank you to everyone reading this, you helped me beat my 2009 Pan Mass Challenge fund raising total by over $800. My 2010 total was $5050, coupled with my 2009 total I’ve raised over $9000 for Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in the last 2 years! I couldn’t have done it without all your help. Collectively PMC riders in 2010 raised over $33 million, 100% of that went directly to life saving cancer research.

The ride went really well, there were moments of elation ( seeing my family at the finish line! ), misery ( hills, hills, and more hills! ), reflection for those we’ve lost, and hope for those currently fighting. I was lucky enough to meet up and share some miles with old friends from the 2009 PMC ( DPJ, Chip G, Johnny M ), as well as meeting new friends ( thanks for the pull home Matt M – it was much needed! ).

5 minutes until day 1 start, 112 miles coming up!

Getting cheered along the way...

Noticed the sign right before I was about to plant my aching backside in it...

Almost done with Day 1. 12. More. Miles.

Day 2 about 120 miles in, heading for Provincetown, MA. Jim and Brenda helping me along.

Day 2 about 120 miles in, heading for Provincetown, MA. Jim and Brenda helping me along.

This is what riding too far on a bike looks like...not happy.

But you forget how much it hurts when you cross the finish line!

I know I’ll be riding again in the 2011 PMC, this cause is too important to me and my family. As long as I can raise the money I’ll keep riding in hopes that a cure is just around the next corner. I’ll probably come knocking again for money next year, go easy on me, I hate asking people for money. (:-) If you wonder why I ride, these people along the way sum it up…

Thank you again for your support, it means the world to me, and a whole lot of other people who are touched by this terrible disease.

My 2010 ride was for Jim and Brenda Blake, who we lost too soon, and for Christina Mason who will continue to LIVESTRONG and beat this.

2011 sign ups are next week! I’m going to be doing things a little differently this year…more on that next week! (:-)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

